10/4/23 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #4 – Satan’s Slaves 2: Communion

I had to wait an entire year to put this Indonesian gem on this list. I saw this right after Halloween last year, so it missed my October movies. But I knew the second it ended, I needed to tell everyone about this movie. In fact, it was going to be my #1 this year (until I felt The Angry Black Girl and Her Monster deserved that spot). Regardless, this is a horrifically spectacular sequel to the horrifically spectacular Satan’s Slaves. Here is the IMDB synopsis.

When the heavy storm hits, it wasn’t the storm that a family should fear but the people and non-human entities who are out for them.

Let me say this loudly. I LOVE JOKO ANWAR. He is one of my favorite horror writer/directors working right now, with movies like the original Satan’s Slaves, Queen of Black Magic, and Impetigore. Just like James Wan does so wonderfully with the Conjuring movies, Joko Anwar simply knows how to meticulously craft an amazing scare sequence. He knows exactly how to place the camera and edit the scene to squeeze the most tension out of a moment. Satan’s Slaves 2: Communion is chock full of these moments. Now, just like I said with Satan’s Slaves, do not be turned off by the title. It sounds schlocky, but that is more of a translation issue. It doesn’t come off as schlocky in Indonesian. This movie is pure nightmare fuel. There is some imagery that will stick with you for a long time. And let me just tell you, the elevator sequence in this film should be studied in film schools. It’s a perfect display of buildup and payoff. Don’t sleep on this movie. Trust me. If you haven’t seen them yet, see both of the Satan’s Slaves movies immediately.

Where to Watch: Streaming on Shudder.

Food/Drink Pairing: Some jet black rice sprinkled with dirt.

Leave a comment