10/9/23 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #9 – Black Roses (1988)

I’ve spent the last three days completely immersed in heavy metal, having been at the Power Trip festival all weekend long. Metal has always been my second love along with horror. So I feel like I had no choice but to put one of the slew of 80’s heavy metal horror flicks on this list. Sure, the most obvious choice would have probably been 1986’s Trick or Treat (I mean, that one does have Ozzy Osbourne and Gene Simmons in it). But no, I’m going with the bonkers Black Roses. Here’s the brief synopsis from IMDB.

Demons hypnotize the general public by posing as a rock and roll band.

Let me say this right up front. By traditional standards, Black Roses is not a “good” movie. But hell, it all depends on what standard you judge “good” by, and I never like to use anything traditional. Black Roses I would argue is one of the most fun group movies you can watch with a gang of people that loves 80’s nostalgia. It’s got everything 80’s horror movies are known for, amazing hair, questionable acting, gratuitous nudity, some truly inventive practical effects (not to mention weird demon puppets), and a completely nutso sense of reality. Basically this is everything our parents warned us about in the 80’s. Satanic Panic! Listen to heavy metal music and your soul will be lost to the devil! Yep, I heard that a lot. And with this movie, it’s all true! haha. Just grab a few friends, turn off your brain, and have a great time with this bizarro 80’s heavy metal experience.

Where to Watch: Streaming on Shudder, Peacock, Tubi and a few others.

Food/Drink Pairing: An overcooked charred steak and a Rosé beer (yep, it exists).

Leave a comment