10/8/17 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #8 – The Blackcoat’s Daughter.

When I finally watched The Blackcoat’s Daughter, I felt like I’d been hearing about this film for some time. Truth in advertising here, I’m friends with a few of the producers on this film so I was very aware of it from an early stage when it was called February. I knew it was a lower budgeted, dark, dismal creepfest that took place in the freezing cold. But I specifically stayed away from any storylines or any plot points. I wanted to see it fresh without any tainting. And I’m so glad I did. Such a fantastic little film. The Blackcoat’s Daughter is about two girls at an all-girls boarding school. It’s winter break and their parents aren’t there to pick them up so they have to stay behind. There’s an ominous feeling… there’s something… about this school, but you don’t know what. Then suddenly, you leave the school to another girl altogether. This one is played by Emma Roberts. She appears to have run away, but you’re kind of in the dark with her too. That’s what’s fun about this movie – you have to figure it out. It doesn’t just spell it out for you. It actually allows the audience to piece it together slowly over the course of the film. And once everything comes together, it’s utterly haunting. It’s directed by Oz Perkins, son of the late great Anthony Perkins. And I think the twisted horror gene was passed down in spades. This movie has mood in spades. The cold wintery atmosphere makes you almost shiver as you’re watching it. It’s slow paced allowing the mystery and dread to build, which is exactly the type of movie I love. The Blackcoat’s Daughter is one of those scary movies that I can recommend to anyone because I feel there’s broad appeal that everyone can relate to, and then a few moments of pure punch you in the gut that will knock you down.

One thought on “10/8/17 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #8 – The Blackcoat’s Daughter.

  1. OK, so I loved watching this one because I had NO idea what to expect. I love being in the dark, having no clue what a movie is about. You did perfectly with this description, not letting on what was happening. I was on the edge of my seat, listening closely since everything is pretty quiet and I felt like I really needed to pay attention to what was going on; it sucks you in. The movie was slowly building until – BAM – I had no idea what was coming. It’s like you sit and watch the rest of the movie with this “open-mouthed, hands-on-your-head” posture, wondering what the eff just happened. haha. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

