10/31/16 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #31 – Tourist Trap.

tourist-trap

Every Halloween Day I choose to write up a movie that I deem special. One that has ideal Halloween merit (at least in my eyes.) This year I decided on something slightly different than what I’ve done in the past. Every year up until now I’ve chosen a pretty well known film, either a staple of the genre, or a perennial Halloween classic. This year I decided to choose one of my all time personal pleasures, and what I think could quite possibly be one of the most under-appreciated horror films of the 70’s (or any time period actually). This year I give you the gem that is Tourist Trap. I LOVE this movie. It is so bizarre and so fantastic, that I’ve made it my goal here to spread the good word to as many folks as I can outside of the horror realm who may not even know of this film’s existence. The premise is a solid horror staple. A group of teens on a road trip has their vehicle break down in the middle of nowhere Americana. They come across a nice old man who offers to help them and takes them back to his place. Oh, but his place just happens to be a homemade museum full of creepy mannequins. Yep. Mannequins. Plus, the man has a crazy brother that has a pension for murdering people. And to make things even worse, the damn mannequins seem to come to life. What the hell is going on here? Well, there’s someone with telekinetic powers. Creepy mannequins. A masked sociopath named Davey. Creepy mannequins. Amazing acting by classic western actor Chuck Connors. Creepy mannequins. A dark and eerie atmosphere that engulfs you from the very beginning. Oh, and did I mention the creepy ass mannequins??? Yep, that’s what this film is about – the mannequins. These babies are absolutely haunting. Their off-kilter appearance makes you wonder, “is there actually a dead body under there?” Every time one turns his head, opens its eyes, or even worse… speaks or laughs, it shivers your spine. I’ll make you this deal. Watch the opening sequence of this movie. If you aren’t completely unnerved and intrigued by the first 5 minutes or so, then feel free to move on. But I guarantee that as soon as those mannequins start to cackle their horrific high-pitch cackles, you’re sold on this film. This movie is unnerving, bonkers, and amazing. It’s a perfect film of the time period, even including a pre-Charlie’s Angels Tanya Roberts. The score nails it, adding an entire extra layer of awesome. And just wait until the final frame of the film. It’ll haunt you, I guarantee. I’m telling you, Tourist Trap really needs more attention. It deserves a place in the upper echelon of horror flicks, which is why I decided to make it my extra special Halloween choice for 2016. Enjoy. Enjoy. Enjoy.

Well freaks, that does it for 2016’s October Horror Picks. I hope you had as much fun as I did. So many movies. So many scares. Many of you agreed with my choices. And just as many disagreed. That’s what art is all about. I love it. Thanks everyone. Have a great November and beyond. See you in 2017!

Leave a Reply

