10/9/14 – 2014 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #9 – Dead Silence.

Dead Silence

Okay, watch out, it’s Jeff’s guilty pleasure time. Look, this is my list so I get to put what I want on it. I know that at its core Dead Silence is a pretty ridiculous movie. I know it’s been critically panned. I know there are logic gaps a mile wide. But guess what? I simply don’t care. There’s such a manic craziness to this movie that I kind of love. To me, it has the same vibe and feel of the types of horror movies I worship from the 80’s. The filmmakers decided to just go for it and simply have a lot of fun, which really rubs off on the viewer. Let’s be honest, no one likes ventriloquist dummies. Not a damn soul. They’re only a small step below clowns on the universally terrifying factor. On occasion these dummies get small parts in horror films (my personal favorite is the old Tales from the Crypt episode, “The Ventriloquist’s Dummy”), but here they take center stage. And you know what’s more terrifying that one ventriloquist dummy? How about a TON of ventriloquist dummies. Cause you just know that 3rd act is chock full of an entire wall of them. But in addition, let’s throw in deadly spirits, creepy old folk tales, scary old ladies, a “silent” mode that alerts you of evil, a few moments of gore, and even some neat underwater stuff, and you’ve got a hodgepodge of entertaining insanity. It’s worth noting the people behind this project. It was co-written by Leigh Whannell, who created Saw, so you just know there’s going to be some kind of “twist” involved (which is utter madness, but so stupidly awesome.) And it’s directed by the incredible James Wan, the masterful eye behind Insidious and The Conjuring (one of my favorite horror films of recent times.) So just know that even though this was an earlier work of his, it still has a lot of the atmospheric eye that gave those movies their luster. Look, like I said, this is a guilty pleasure, but I think if you’re just looking for an insane jolly good time, you really could do a lot worse. To me, Dead Silence is a blasty blast.

5 thoughts on “10/9/14 – 2014 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #9 – Dead Silence.

  1. This movie sounds great! I absolutely love horrors, and ridiculous is my flavour. I recently watched a half hearted horror, Berberian Sound Studio and it was bloody awful! I will definitely put this one on my watch list and have a flick through what else you reccomend!!

  2. I concur! This movie is effectively creepy with an overall dark, menacing quality that just works. You feel an undercurrent of dread that continues to build throughout the story & the climax has a delightfully wicked twist that just kills (no pun intended, haha!). I’ve never understood why people hate on it. Definitely underrated & worth any lacking plot issues. I think it has a pre-“Annabelle” element in the creative progression of the Wan/Whannell filmography. I also enjoyed Donnie Wahlberg as the relentless, dry witted detective. He deserves more roles as he has proven his range as an actor (Sixth Sense, Saw II) with great potential.

  3. Pingback: 10/29/14 – 2014 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #29 – Saw. | Musings of a Scary Horror Writer.

Leave a Reply

