10/4/13 – 2013 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #4 – Silent House (2011)

Silent House

Here’s a movie that I’ve had to do some battle over in the past, and I’m sure it will continue.  No biggie, I welcome all comers. I saw Silent House at Sundance a few years back and I seriously loved it.  At the time I’d never seen the original foreign film it was based on, so this was my benchmark. It’s basically about a woman sealed in a house, by herself, with a possible stalker in there with her.  Simple and to the point.  I loved the gimmick of it being in real time… it’s all done in one 90 minute continuous shot.  Think about that.  No cuts.  A horror film all done following one person, in one location, with no cutaways.  That’s an insanely tough thing to pull off, but they do it.  Although I should note that at the Sundance Q & A, the director admitted that there were actually 4 hidden cuts.  But you don’t notice them.  Still, four 15 minute continuous scenes is insanely tough.  Regardless, I raved about it to people, telling them to see it when it finally gets released in theaters.  Then finally it did get released wide… and… it received an F Cinemescore.  An F???  I was confused beyond belief.  Did these people see the same film I did?  So I rewatched it, thinking they must have cut it to pieces, as they sometimes do with Sundance films after they’re picked up.  But nope.  No butchering.  Still the same great film.  It’s then that realized how divisive the “one continuous shot” idea actually was.  It is essentially an “experimental film.”  It isn’t a mass audience film.  At all.  So if people went in thinking they were going to see some run-of-the-mill horror flick, they’d be disappointed and give it an F grade.  Then I started to LOVE that F Cinemascore.  It means the filmmakers succeeded.  This film isn’t for the mass audience.  It’s for a niche audience, LIKE ME.  Look, it wouldn’t work if it was a shit actress, but it’s Elizabeth Olsen, and she’s incredible.  I’ll try not to say any more, so as not to ruin the experience.  But if you want to see something a little experimental, but SERIOUSLY suspenseful, I highly suggest this film.  Don’t listen to the mass audience.  They gave Jack & Jill and Paul Blart: Mall Cop a higher Cinemascore.  Just think about that one for a second…  And see this movie.

2 thoughts on “10/4/13 – 2013 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #4 – Silent House (2011)

  1. I absolutely loved this movie as well. When I saw all the bad criticism it was getting, I just couldn’t for the life of me figure out why people disliked it or why people were saying that Elizabeth Olsen was annoying (what up Bloody-Disgusting). Then I had that revelation where I realized that this movie is so niche and highly stylized that not everyone was going to get it. That’s just that. I agree with you 100%, mass audiences don’t really appreciate a good, well-crafted horror film because they want a quick scare, part of the reason movies like Paranormal Activity and Insidious have been so successful (I like to call that the Blumhouse effect).

Leave a Reply

