2012 HORROR ADVENT CALENDAR – Returning Tomorrow. An Explanation.

Sorry, but I had to take that week off.

There are a few things that are truly horrific beyond words, and the shooting at Sandy Hook might top the list.  Having a 1st grader and 4th grader myself, this atrocity hit home with me.  In fact, I was helping at my daughter’s school, doing cooking demonstrations for over 90 smiling, beaming students, when I heard news of the shooting from a fellow parent.  After I heard the news, I looked out the window, saw all the 1st grade children playing, frolicking, and just being kids out on the playground… and I almost lost it.  The gravity of it all just hit me like a ton of bricks.  Being a so-called “scary horror writer” went completely out the window, and all I really wanted to do was find my daughters, hug them as tight as I could, and weep.  But then almost immediately, this sadness and depression at a world gone mad switched.  I turned angry.  Really fucking angry.  Angry at the shooter.  Angry at the system.  Angry at the press.  Angry at all the gun-worshipping shitheads.  Angry at humanity.  Basically, just angry at the entire world.  And I just had to step back.  I know these emotions were shared by most everyone in the country, but that didn’t make them any easier to deal with.  There’s no other way to put it.  I had to just…  step back.

But after reflecting and wallowing for a week, I’ve decided to return to my silly little Horror Advent Calendar.  I needed a little levity back in my life.  So starting tomorrow for the last few days before Christmas, I’m going to do my best to showcase a few more entries into my little countdown.  Now, I fully acknowledge that these “horrors” are trivial and definitely for entertainment value only, but sometimes these trivial things can help get through the day.  Whether it’s for catharsis, an escape, or simply a few minutes of hiatus from normal life, hopefully I can help.

And with what’s going on in the country right now, we all need all the help we can get.

Leave a Reply

