2012 HORROR ADVENT CALENDAR – DAY #14: Birthdays on Facebook.

frabz-So-you-wished-me-happy-birthday-on-facebook-please-tell-me-again-a83fb8

 

Again, as with most of my posts, before you judge, let me get to my angle.  You’ll see the hidden horror.  At the very end of this post, you’ll see why this is on my mind right now.

First off, I love getting Facebook messages on my birthday.  Who doesn’t?  It’s an amazing feeling.  It’s so nice and warm and ticklish to get little “happy birthday” notices throughout your day of birth.  Plus, it’s fun to give them to friends as well.  It lets you throw little fun memory nuggets, catch up with some you haven’t seen in a while, or just let those closest know that you remembered…

But wait…  You didn’t actually remember, did you?

See.  That’s the point.  I understand Facebook alerting you to casual friends birthdays and expressing some good wishes, but now people are using it as a crutch to remember their close friends and families birthdays as well.  Test:  How many of your true friends’ birthdays do you actually remember now?  This is much like when the cell phone became commonplace, and you forgot everyone’s actual phone numbers.  Seriously.  Tell me your best friend’s phone number by heart right now without looking at your phone.  I bet you can’t, and why would you?  Because it’s so easy to just look on your phone and find their name.  But that’s what’s happening to birthdays now.  People are not caring about remembering, because Facebook will remember for them.  And that just sucks.

Birthdays should be a little more special.  Birthdays come once a freaking year.  I understand that for most of your acquaintances you shouldn’t have to remember, let Facebook help you out there.  But for those close to you, don’t let Facebook take this over too.  I constantly hear that people wish their moms, dads, sisters, and brothers happy birthday solely on Facebook now.  Many don’t even call anymore.  They type 14 simple keystrokes, and yep, feel like that’s a decent job.  That’s pathetic.  It’s yet another example of “what brings us closer, pushes us further away.”  And I don’t like it.

And one additional point about Facebook birthday greetings.  More of some advice really.  When you get numerous generic “happy birthday” statements on your wall, it’s pretty difficult to distinguish one from another.  Weird that ten of them are from people you’re really close to, and then the next ten are from people you barely even know.  And yet they all say the exact same thing — “happy birthday”.  They blend together.  How can you tell who from who?  Come on, there’s practically zero thought with that greeting now.  At least change the adjective, or add something endearing.  Even adding a single additional word will make it unique.  Trust me.

Sigh…  I dunno.  I know it seems small, but it just feels like one of those things that Facebook is taking over yet again.  I love birthdays.  They’re fun.  They’re once a damn year.  Don’t let Facebook absorb them too.

On that note.  It is actually my mother’s birthday today.  She lives a few states away so I can’t go in person, so I think I’ll do the next best thing and instead of wishing her a measly greeting on Facebook,

I’LL ACTUALLY CALL HER AND WISH HER A HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

 

Leave a Reply

