2012 HORROR ADVENT CALENDAR – DAY #12: Gangnam Style.

psy-gangnam-style-dance

Okay, I get it.  It’s a catchy song.  It’s a catchy dance.  It’s a fun little diversion.  But is it really deserving of the most viewed YouTube video of all time?  Think about that one.

Of…  All…  Time…

Now here is where the mental flexing needs to begin.  How did this odd little number explode in a way that very few things on Earth ever have?  Sure, K-Pop is big right now, but is it really this big???  I mean, it’s got a fun little techno beat, but I could show you hundreds of others that are exactly like it, or far better.  Okay fine, he dances around like a jockey and looks silly, but is watching a Korean man mince around in sunglasses really worthy of all this hoopla?  I’m seriously confused.  My head hurts…

This is where the “horror” aspect of this comes in to play.  It shows itself in the utter randomness of it all.  Nothing is more terrifying to me than things with no rhyme nor reason.  The most terrifying killers seemingly have no reason behind their killings at all.  The most terrifying situations are the ones where you’re constantly searching for the reasons why.  That’s Gangnam Style to me.  It’s success is so completely and utterly random that it makes me question everything else in life too.  Why am I here?  Where do I go when I die?  What are the consequences of my actions?  How is Gangnam Style the most popular video of all time?

It’s questions like these that make you reevaluate your life and go seeking for answers that, somehow, you now know will never come.  All thanks for Gangnam Style.  So thank you, Gangnam Style.  Thank you for making me question my reality.

I hope you’re happy, Psy.  You strange little Korean bastard.

3 thoughts on “2012 HORROR ADVENT CALENDAR – DAY #12: Gangnam Style.

  1. Well, as a fan of the song, I could perhaps give you some insight. I think this is more about the video than anything else. Yes, the song itself is pretty typical K-pop music. But the video is innovative and quite frankly hilarious. PSY himself says that he’s not a good looking guy or any supermodel, so he wanted to make a funny video to go with the song. And with the theme of the song, it actually makes sense. Overall, the video is colorful, the characters are funny, the dance is easy to do, so it appeals to everyone. And I always wonder what people thought when they saw PSY galloping along on crosswalks in Korea. Plus, I laugh hysterically at the elevator scene every time I see it. So perhaps that might help you out with why some of us are totally on the bandwagon with PSY.

  2. Well, it could be relative. I mean, I’m sure that’s many countries’ worth of people watching the video since he’s got international fame. Plus we have to take into factor that YouTube is now more widely used. It’s like I read an article about how The Hobbit broken records in NZ today as far as box office numbers. BUT, later on in the article it said that this was the widest release of any film so far in NZ, so clearly the box office numbers were relative to how many theaters were showing the film.

    Of course, I’d rather the most watched video be something like the people who are clapping in the airport for the soldiers coming home, or the 9-11 Budweiser Clydesdale salute. But hey, what can you do?

Leave a Reply

