10/16/12 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #16 – Psycho (1960).

Psycho

Since most people definitely know about this movie, I’ll tell you my personal connection with it. With not one, but two different films coming out in the next few weeks about Alfred Hitchcock, he’s been on my mind lately. Growing up I loved Alfred Hitchcock. When I was young, maybe 8 years old, my mom would read books of his short story collections and leave them on the dresser. I would steal them when she wasn’t looking and read in the bathroom, thinking I was being so rebellious. A lot of the stories went over my head, but I still loved the creepy moods and surprising twists that he always provided. Once I found out he had a TV show where he would introduce a 30 minute show, usually based on one of these stories, I was hooked. I had an utter fascination with the man. His cherubic face. His drowning voice. His completely gentle demeanor. How could someone like this create these twisted tales? It wasn’t soon after that I was introduced to Psycho. I remember seeing the special effects show at Universal Studios where they explained all about using chocolate syrup in the shower scene instead of blood (since it showed up better in a B&W film), and how they never once showed the knife actually cut Janet Leigh, but rather that it was all done by clever camera tricks and editing. Before even seeing the film, I was obsessed with the tricks that they used. Once I finally watched Psycho a few years later, with all this knowledge intact, my eyes and brain went into overdrive. I LOVED this movie. It was one that had all the trademark Hitchcock minutiae, as well as one of the most shocking scenes in cinematic history at the time. I still have this poster that I bought as a kid right after that Universal Studios show, and it still wows me to this day. There’s a reason why this movie still holds a place at the top of the list whenever it comes to films (of any genre.) If you haven’t seen this yet, you really need to remedy that immediately. It’s a must watch for anyone who cares about film at all.

Leave a Reply

