10/4/12 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #4 – Child’s Play.

Child's Play

“Hi, I’m Chucky. Wanna play?” Ahh, delightful. Another movie from my childhood. Look, poo-poo this movie all you want, but whenever someone asks the general public to name the top 5 horror characters, guess what the majority of them will likely say? Jason, Freddy, Michael Myers, Leatherface, then they’ll think for a moment… and finally say, oh and Chucky! Chucky. That little murderous doll bastard. Now, I know in the last few films, he’s gone the way of later-film Freddy, and become more humorous and tongue-in-cheek. But in the first one, holy hell, he scared the living daylights out of me. Granted I was a kid, so that could have something to do with it. But rather, it could be something else. I think most people have a deep down fear of these types of dolls. They’re just plain creepy. I swear every time I go into my daughter’s room and I see her American Girl doll, I think its head is going to slowly spin toward me, smile, and say, “You won’t survive the night.” Dolls are scary. They just are. Now, put a murderous psycho like Brad Dourif (one of my all-time favorites) inside, and you’ve got a recipe for pure, terror, awesome sauce. Using the tried-and-true method of no adult believing the child’s story, this movie is both frustrating and fantastic. Sometimes when Chucky is using his “Good Guy” children’s voice, hell, it’s almost creepier than when he uses his murderous voice that we all know. Although, when he flips and starts swearing yelling things like, “DIE BITCH!” these are still some of my favorite horror moments ever. Chucky, you’ll always have a special place in my heart. Even now that you’re married to Jennifer Tilly, I’ll still remember you as you were, a serial killing psychopath. “Friends till the end!”

Leave a Reply

