10/1/12 – 2012 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #1 – The Cabin in the Woods

Cabin in the Woods

Gotta come out of the gate with one 2012’s best, not to mention one of the freshest and most inventive horror movies I’ve seen in a damn long time.  The Cabin in the Woods is one of those rare flicks that manages to be loved by the hardcore horror fans (me) as well as those not really even into scary movies at all.  It’s a true crossover hit.  I think a lot of this is because technically, in my opinion, it’s not really a horror movie as much as a very meta amalgamation of horror, sci-fi, comedy, you name it.  Still, you’ve gotta hand it to Joss Whedon, writing both The Avengers and this, he definitely seems to know exactly what the fans want lately.  I’ve heard a lot of people relate The Cabin in the Woods to Scream because of its internal examination of the typical horror tropes.  To me, it’s really its own animal and is difficult to compare to anything.  Look, it’s best if I don’t really tell you anything else about it.  It just came out for rental lately, so do yourselves a solid and check it out if you haven’t yet.  Just do me a favor and DO NOT let anyone tell you anything about it.  Go in blind.  Finding out what’s going on is all the fun.  And to those of you who have already seen it, all I have to say is…  *DING!*

Leave a Reply

