FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/31/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #31 – Martyrs.

Martyrs

For my final horror pick of October, I had to pick something really special. Halloween deserves nothing short of pure and utter terror. Something that will keep you up at night. Something that makes you look at life and death a little bit differently. Something that literally alters you. Well, here it is, ladies and gentlemen. In addition to being all of these things, it also earns the award for being the single most disturbing film I’ve ever seen. I give you, Martyrs. This French masterpiece came out a few years ago and literally blew my mind. It is so mind bogglingly unique, and so relentlessly disturbing, that I just sat on the couch and let it sink in for almost 10 minutes before I even got up to take out the disk. Now I give you this recommendation, but it absolutely comes with a warning. I’m not joking about how disturbing this film is. It will literally mess up your mind. The French don’t have the same boundaries that we do in the US, so you will witness things that you never thought you’d see on film. It is brutal. It is gory. It is depraved. It is difficult to watch. BUT, if you can make it through to the final frame, you will be rewarded with one of the most amazing and profound (yes, I said profound) experiences that you could ever attain on film. Earlier I mentioned that this film alters you. I’ll repeat that sentiment here. I’ve only seen a couple movies in my life where I literally felt like it somehow altered me when I was finished watching it. I’m not kidding when I say this film did just that. I was altered. But once again, here’s the deal. I can’t actually tell you what it’s about. Because that’s the point of the movie – figuring out what it’s about. As soon as you think you know where it’s heading, and what’s actually going on, it turns on you, and you realize that you couldn’t be more wrong… Listen to me, if you are actually interested in viewing it, do yourself a favor, and DO NOT read anything about it on the internet, or let anyone tell you what it’s about. It will ruin the experience for you, since that IS the experience. Now I know for a fact, many people will be tempted to turn it off, because it is brutal. And I do mean, brutal. But if you can make it through, just trust me on this one, the finale, including the very final frame, will stay with you for months. You want to truly be scared on Halloween? Don’t pussyfoot around, and actually terrify yourself to your core. This isn’t child’s play. This is the real deal. And please, if anyone does watch this movie, e-mail me afterward. I want to hear about your experience. It’s that amazing to me.  Happy Halloween, everyone.

2 thoughts on “FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/31/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #31 – Martyrs.

  1. Pingback: 10/31/14 – 2014 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #31 – Trick ‘r Treat. | Musings of a Scary Horror Writer.

  2. Pingback: 2016 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICKS – They’re Baaaaack… | Musings of a Scary Horror Writer.

Leave a Reply

