10/23/11 – 2011 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #23 – The Skeleton Key.

The Skeleton Key

Today I’m going to write about a movie that took me by complete and utter surprise. Don’t you love when that happens? This was a film that, when it was released, looked like it was simply a studio cash-in for a time when the majors were only on the hunt for PG-13 copycats of the Ring and The Grudge. So I went in apprehensive, but boy oh boy, was I pleasantly proved wrong. This was a fresh, interesting, and complex story that went to places many films never do. It has a strong cast, great suspense, and a wonderful mystery. For me, that’s the key component here, the mystery. This was a movie that is built around a mystery, and spends the entire time trying to unravel it. So basically if the mystery wasn’t strong and interesting enough, the entire movie would have fallen apart. Luckily for the audience, it’s intricate, intelligent, and highly unpredictable. One thing that I absolutely HATE is when a film’s marketing campaign says, “…and a twist that you will never see coming!” To me, all I ever say is, “great, now I know it has a twist, now that I know that I’ll have it solved a third of the way in.” Guess what, this is the rare film that tricked me. Yes, that was their stupid marketing campaign, so I spent the film trying to spoil it for myself, but ding, ding, ding, I didn’t figure it out! In fact, when everything was revealed, I was so surprised and pleased that I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. It’s twisted, it’s unsettling, and it is genius. That simple reason is the key to this film. It’s an example of a perfectly crafted mystery with an amazing payoff. If you’re looking for that kind of movie, look no further. Trust me on this one, guys. Like the marketing campaign (accurately, this time) stated, “You won’t see it coming!

Leave a Reply

