FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/13/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #13 – Dawn of the Dead (2004).

Dawn of the Dead remake

I love zombies. I love them so much. They are, without a doubt, my favorite sub-genre of horror (I’m sick of vampires.) So while there are literally a hundred zombies flicks that I LOVE, I chose this one to focus on. Why would I risk being called a blasphemer and not choose the original (which I worship as well?) Because while many of the Romero and Fulci classics are absolutely on the top of my personal list, I wanted to focus on this movie because of a different reason. I want to show you the absolute perfect way to do a remake. With so many horror flicks out there being remade right now, the majority of them just suck. They suck because they’re just looking for a payday and have zero passion behind them. It’s basically a studio looking through its catalog asking, “what can we squeeze some more dimes out of?” But this movie had passion behind it and it shows. They took the original and actually put thought into updating it, without bastardizing it. Much of the allegories from the original are still intact. Basically, the speedy zombies rock. The characters rock. The gore rocks. And look, as a Conan fan, they kill a zombie Jay Leno look-alike, which again, just rocks. Overall, this movie just rocks.

One thought on “FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/13/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #13 – Dawn of the Dead (2004).

  1. Pingback: 10/10/15 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #10 – The Horde (2009). | Musings of a Scary Horror Writer.

Leave a Reply

