FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/11/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #11 – The People Under The Stairs.

People Under the Stairs

I have an affinity for movies that just feel a tad… off. The term “cult classic” seems overused, but this flick definitely fits the bill. Though a few themes here may have been used before, most everything else about it just felt awesomely original to me. Hand it to Wes Craven for delivering this bizarre, and in my opinion highly underrated, tale of evil landlords vs. tenants (vs. effed up “children”) gone horribly wrong. I love the idea of a big house chock full of secret little crawlspaces, booby traps, and other “things” that live inside… and then being locked inside of it. Throw in Ving Rhames in a supporting role and you’ve got a nice viewing package. But for me, I mainly love this movie for another reason. Here’s a deal, I’ve probably mentioned it before, and I’ll definitely mention it a million more times, but I’m a MAJOR Twin Peaks fan. So to put Everett McGill and Wendy Robie (Ed and Nadine!) in the villainous roles of Mom & Dad, was pure and simple genius. Watching Dad run around in his “hunting” gimp suit with his shotgun is still one of my favorite things in the world. He was the original gimp before Pulp Fiction was even a dream. Damn I love this movie.

Leave a Reply

