10/10/11 – 2011 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #10 – Event Horizon.

Event Horizon

I talked about Hell last year, so I’ll talk about Hell this year too. But this time, let the debates begin… For some reason over the years if there’s one movie that consistently creates a heated debate amongst horror people, it’s Event Horizon. Some think it’s actually a ballzy studio release with a high caliber cast, some haunting visuals and for once a damn hearty budget to back it all up. Others balk at it, saying it’s incoherent, messy, derivative and not in the least scary (unless you count Lawrence Fishburne’s abnormally large head, because it really is frighteningly big.) Honestly, I understand both sides of the debate because it’s far from a perfect film. But for me, when I saw it in the theaters, I thought it was great. Look, unless your name is Ridley Scott, horror flicks rarely get the big money from the studio so it’s fun when a genre flick actually looks and feels BIG, but still has a dark and twisted story to go along with it. Nothing is softballed in this flick. They actually go for the jugular which is always (sadly) a surprise in studio horror movies. I still remember the Fangoria article on it that showed a photo of a man impaled with a massive spike through the back of the head and out his mouth, and I knew this was not your normal big budget movie. Give it a shot. Hate it if you want, but honestly, I’d always MUCH rather check out a flick that is as divisive as this. Far better than seeing something where most people just go, “yeah, it was fine.” Love it or hate it, you’ll definitely have an opinion.

2 thoughts on “10/10/11 – 2011 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #10 – Event Horizon.

  1. Great write-up. I loved this movie when I saw it in theatres. It was years before I found anyone that thought it sucked… but once I turned over that rock, it was all ever seemed to find… just more and more people thinking it sucked. Glad to come across someone that loved it in theatres again.

Leave a Reply

