FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/8/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #8 – Re-Animator.

Re-Animator

Yet another movie that was pivotal to my adolescence. And if you know me, that probably would explain a lot. Stuart Gordon’s fantastically bizarre and insane adaptation of H.P. Lovecraft’s Re-Animator was another of my earliest experiences with gory horror and twisted humor married together, not to mention an introduction to some seriously creepy sexual moments (a real head scratcher in my pre-pubescent youth.) But in addition to all the re-animated corpse insanity, you also get one of my all time favorite actor’s in one of my all time favorite roles. Jeffrey Combs’ character of Herbert West is one of the most iconic in all of horror. Jeffrey Combs is a man (much like another of my favorite actors, Brad Dourif) that while huge in horror and genre circles, in my opinion does not get nearly enough mainstream credit. Oh well, their loss… Now bear in mind this movie is twisted. Actually, twisted doesn’t even BEGIN to describe some of it. Hell, one scene in particular is still one of the most iconic moments in any horror film (remember what I said about creepy sexual moments? Ha.) If you’ve seen it, you know exactly what I’m talking about. All I can say is you will never look at severed heads the same way again. Look, HP Lovecraft is an idol of mine, and this is one of the best adaptations done by someone who loves him almost as much as I do – Stuart Gordon. Dig in and Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “FLASHBACK 2010 PICK – 10/8/10 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #8 – Re-Animator.

  1. Pingback: 10/12/17 – OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE PICK #12 – Beyond The Gates. | Musings of a Scary Horror Writer.

Leave a Reply

