10/3/11 – 2011 OCTOBER HORROR MOVIE RECOMMENDATION #3 – Happy Birthday To Me.

Ahh, the 80’s. You were so amazing. Sure you gave us a bunch of good new wave music, provided serious top notch fashion, and provided the masses with a lot of dancing entertainment. But to me, you’ll always have my heart in your slew of fantastic slasher films. Happy Birthday to Me is sadly one of the forgotten slashers, but this is a travesty. It is 80’s through and through. Sure it’s derivative, sure it doesn’t make much sense, sure it’s a little too long, but damn upon DAMN if it doesn’t deliver some entertaining 80’s fun-ness. It just rules. I’ll never forget when I was a kid and I saw the box in my video store, and on the cover it has a person getting a skewer pierced through their mouth, along with the tagline, “Six of the most bizarre murders you will ever see.” That my friends, was 1981 marketing genius. I was in, hook, line and sinker. And the ending… Oh, the ending. I just love it so much. It’s just so messed up and super-duper. Look, if you still need a little coercing, it even stars one of the actresses from Little House on the Prairie as its lead. If that doesn’t make you jump at the chance to watch this, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

