2011 HORROR ADVENT CALENDAR – DAY #7: Extreme Christmas Lighting

Extreme Christmas Lights

Okay, so here we go again…  Yet another thing that started so simple and nice, and injected with that secret sauce of “WE CAN GO BIGGER!”  Christmas lights used to be a nice little thing for me when I would drive around our small town with my parents and we would look at the various displays of the neighbors.  A few trees here, a few trees there, maybe lining the roof, a reindeer or two.  Sweet, pleasant reminders that it’s the holiday season.  But no… that wasn’t good enough.  People had to make Christmas lights horrifying.

You know you’ve got a problem when TLC (another post for another day) has shows on its channel titled, “Crazy Christmas Lights” and “Invasion of the Christmas Lights.”  Because that channel loves to focus on its freakshows.  Look, I get it.  A few lights look great.  A few more look better.  But when you literally have more lights on one home than the entire Las Vegas strip, you have a problem.

But it doesn’t stop there.  Oh no.  What’s even more horrifying is that most of these people weren’t happy with just leaving the lights to display on their own.  Most of them now added tons of synchronized motion and music to the mix.  And most have radio frequencies you can tune to so when you drive by you can hear their specifically timed music!  Hell, some even have their own DJ’S!!!  I’m not kidding!  This isn’t Disneyland; these are regular, normal (debatable) people’s homes!  Dear lord, I have no idea where this is going to go next.  Probably some kind of explosions.  But whatever it is, I guarantee it is an even more horrifying place.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest…

I do have to admit, I have an affinity toward one of these crazy Christmas light enthusiasts.  He doesn’t go apeshit crazy with his displays like most of the others.  But he does have a very specific “angle” that he uses.  One that is close to my heart.

His name is Bobby.  And here is an example of his work.  You’ll see why he and I share a bond.

At the 1 minute mark is where the genius really shows.

About Jeff Dixon

My name is Jeff Dixon. I write horror movies. I occasionally kill hobos. View all posts by Jeff Dixon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

